United States. Field service software for electrical contractors
What does electrician contractor software cost your crew?
Every comparison in this category lists the same six products at their headline price, which is close to useless for an electrical contractor because these vendors do not charge for the same thing. One bills jobs, one bills users in blocks, one bills technicians. We priced all six at one, five and twenty electricians from their published rates on 15 August 2026, and the cheapest one inverts twice on the way up.
| Option | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8 Crews that are growing people faster than job count | $0 a month on the free tier, which covers 30 jobs and one user. A sole trader doing under about seven jobs a week pays nothing at all, indefinitely. Above that, Starter is $29 for 50 jobs. | $79 a month on Growing, which carries 150 jobs and unlimited users. Five electricians averaging 30 jobs each a month fit exactly; a busier crew moves to Premium at $149 for 500. | $149 a month on Premium if the crew runs 500 jobs or fewer between them, which is $7.45 a head and the cheapest published per head figure anywhere in this table. Premium Plus is $349 for 1,500 or more, then 20c per extra job. | Jobs, never people. The pricing page states 'we don't charge per user!' and gives unlimited users on every paid plan, so hiring is free and getting busy is not. | No. It names trades and service contractors broadly, giving plumbing and gardening as examples. | $7.45 at twenty electricians on Premium, and it keeps falling as you hire, because the denominator grows and the bill does not. |
| Kickserv A stable crew that fills a user bundle exactly | $60 a month on Start, which buys 5 users whether you need them or not. A sole trader pays the full $60, making this the most expensive published option for one person by a wide margin. | $60 a month on Start, and this is where the plan finally makes sense: five users for $60 is $12.00 a head, and nothing here is cheaper for a crew of exactly five that runs a lot of jobs. | $199 a month on Scale, which is $9.95 a head. Run sits between at $119 for 10 users, $11.90 each. | Users, in blocks of 5, 10 and 20. Nothing caps your job count, which is the mirror image of ServiceM8 and the reason the two swap places depending on how busy you are. | No. The pricing page names no trade. | $9.95 at twenty users on Scale. The curve is nearly flat: only about 17% separates the cheapest bundle rate from the dearest, so there is little reward for growing into a bigger plan. |
| Housecall Pro Small crews that want the feature ladder priced in public | $59 a month on Basic billed annually, which saves $20 a month against monthly billing. For one electrician that is competitive with Kickserv and dearer than ServiceM8. | $59 a month on Basic still, in principle. The published tiers do not specify how many users each includes, which is the one gap in an otherwise open pricing page and the question to settle before signing. | Not knowable from the page for the same reason. Essentials is $149 and MAX $299, both billed annually, but the tiers are drawn on features rather than on headcount. | Features, not size. Essentials adds routes, flat rate pricing, checklist automations, photo reports, employee GPS tracking, commissions and QuickBooks Online sync; MAX adds a sales proposal tool it values at $40 a month, route optimization, open API access and a dedicated onboarding specialist. | Yes. Electrical and HVAC are both named as supported industries, the only published-price vendor here that names electrical at all. | Not calculable. Without a stated user count the per head figure cannot be derived, and we will not estimate one. |
| FieldPulse Crews with more office staff than vans | Not published. | Not published. | Not published. | Seats, of two kinds. Full access seats and limited field seats are priced separately, which is the only model here that charges an office administrator differently from an electrician in a van. For a crew with a big back office that is the fairest structure on this page, and you cannot price it without a call. | Yes, in its industry solutions, though not in its pricing tiers. | Not published. Pricing is stated to be customized to team size and setup. |
| ServiceTitan Large electrical contractors with an agreed implementation budget | Not published, and almost certainly not the intended buyer. | Not published. | Not published. | Technicians. The model is per technician, which is the most expensive basis to be on if your office staff outnumber your vans, and the exact opposite of ServiceM8's. | Yes, as a supported industry, with no trade specific tier. | Not published. Three tiers carry a Request Pricing button instead of a figure. |
| FieldEdge Established multi-truck electrical firms that want guided onboarding | Not published. | Not published. | Not published. | Not published. The page states that plans let you customize software and add-ons based on the features you need, so pricing can vary. | Yes. HVAC, plumbing, electrical, locksmith and appliance repair are all named. | Not published. It also states it offers no free trial, because it prefers guided onboarding, so there is no way to find out by using it either. |
What field service software costs an electrical contractor by crew size, 2026
Last updated
Vendors publish plan prices; contractors need a cost for their crew. This table converts one into the other using each vendor's own published allowances, which is where the ranking turns out to invert twice between a sole trader and a twenty van firm.
Read from each vendor's own pricing page on 15 August 2026, cited in full below. Crew costs are derived by applying published plan prices and published user or job allowances to a crew of that size, and the derivation is stated in every cell so it can be checked. ServiceM8 figures assume a crew stays inside the job allowance of the plan named, because its plans cap jobs rather than users; where a busier crew would move up a tier the cell says which. Kickserv figures use its published 5, 10 and 20 user bundles directly. Housecall Pro prices are its published annual figures, which is how that page presents them, and no per head figure is calculated because the page does not state a user count per plan. Where a vendor publishes no price, the cell says not published. No estimates, no averages, no vendor-supplied numbers we could not read ourselves.
| Vendor | One electrician | Five vans | Twenty electricians | Best cost per head | What it meters |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8 | $0 (free tier, 30 jobs) | $79 (Growing, 150 jobs) | $149 (Premium, 500 jobs) | $7.45 | Jobs a month |
| Kickserv | $60 (Start, 5 users) | $60 (Start, 5 users) | $199 (Scale, 20 users) | $9.95 | Users, in blocks |
| Housecall Pro | $59 (Basic, annual) | $59 (Basic, annual) | not specified | not calculable | Features |
| FieldPulse | not published | not published | not published | not published | Seats, two kinds |
| ServiceTitan | not published | not published | not published | not published | Technicians |
| FieldEdge | not published | not published | not published | not published | Not published |
- The cheapest field service platform for an electrical contractor inverts twice between one van and twenty, because vendors meter different things.
- ServiceM8 publishes a permanent free tier at $0 a month for 30 jobs and one user, the only free plan among six US platforms compared.
- At twenty electricians the cheapest published cost per head is $7.45 a month, against $9.95 on the nearest user-based plan.
- Three of six vendors publish no price for any crew size, showing a Request Pricing button or a custom quote offer instead.
- Only one published-price vendor of the six, Housecall Pro, names electrical work as a supported trade at all.
Cite this page
“What field service software costs an electrical contractor by crew size, 2026”, Trades Software Picker, https://tradessoftwarepicker.com/ (updated 2026-08-15). Read from each vendor's own pricing page on 15 August 2026, cited in full below. Crew costs are derived by applying published plan prices and published user or job allowances to a crew of that size, and the derivation is stated in every cell so it can be checked. ServiceM8 figures assume a crew stays inside the job allowance of the plan named, because its plans cap jobs rather than users; where a busier crew would move up a tier the cell says which. Kickserv figures use its published 5, 10 and 20 user bundles directly. Housecall Pro prices are its published annual figures, which is how that page presents them, and no per head figure is calculated because the page does not state a user count per plan. Where a vendor publishes no price, the cell says not published. No estimates, no averages, no vendor-supplied numbers we could not read ourselves.
How we chose these, and how they are ordered
Six US field service platforms bought by electrical contractors. Every figure was copied from the vendor's own pricing page on 15 August 2026; nothing comes from a review site, a listicle or a reseller.
Order runs by how cheaply a working crew can actually start: vendors publishing a full rate card first, cheapest realistic entry first within that, then vendors publishing tiers without figures. Three of the six publish no price, so their rows are mostly the words not published, and that is the finding rather than a gap in our reading.
Crew size figures are derived by applying each vendor's own published plan prices and stated user or job allowances to a crew of that size. Where a vendor does not state a user count, as Housecall Pro does not, the cell says so and no per head figure is calculated. We would rather leave a cell empty than estimate one.
This table does not score features, which in this category look identical on paper and diverge entirely in use. The honest test is a trial on real jobs, so we record who offers one and for how long instead of pretending to have run six.
- ServiceM8 ServiceM8, US pricing
- Kickserv Kickserv, pricing
- Housecall Pro Housecall Pro, pricing
- FieldPulse FieldPulse, pricing
- ServiceTitan ServiceTitan, pricing
- FieldEdge FieldEdge, pricing
Trades Software Picker is an independent site operated by Ellul Solutions Ltd. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to any software vendor named here, and nothing on it is contractual advice. We take no commission from any vendor in this comparison and carry no paid placements. Prices, allowances and terms change without notice: every figure carries the date we read it on the vendor's own page, crew costs are derived from those published allowances and the derivation is stated so you can check it, and the figures that decide a first year budget, notably card processing rates and implementation fees, are not published by anyone here.
Want quotes priced for your crew, not for a tier?
Tell us how many electricians you run and roughly how many jobs a month they clear. Those two numbers decide which charging model suits you, and vendors that fit will quote you directly.
Common questions
What is the best software for electrical contractors?
It depends on your ratio of jobs to people, not on your size. Of six US platforms read on 15 August 2026, ServiceM8 charges by jobs a month and gives unlimited users, Kickserv charges for bundled users at 5, 10 or 20, and Housecall Pro charges a flat plan and is the only published-price vendor naming electrical work. Below roughly 25 jobs a month per head a job-based vendor is cheaper; above it a user-based one is.
How much does electrician software cost?
Published US prices on 15 August 2026 ran from $0 to $60 at entry. ServiceM8 has a free tier for 30 jobs a month and one user, then $29 for 50 jobs. Housecall Pro's Basic is $59 a month billed annually. Kickserv's Start is $60 for 5 users. At twenty electricians the cheapest published option is ServiceM8's Premium at $149, or $7.45 a head, against Kickserv's Scale at $199, or $9.95 a head.
Is there free software for electricians?
One genuinely free tier exists among these six. ServiceM8 publishes a $0 plan covering 30 jobs a month for a single user, with self serve support and 10c per SMS. That is enough to run a sole trader doing about seven jobs a week, and it is a permanent plan rather than a trial. Every other vendor here offers at most a 14 to 30 day trial, and two offer nothing.
Which is cheaper, per user or per job pricing?
Divide your monthly job count by your headcount. Below roughly 25 jobs per person, a vendor charging for jobs wins; above it, one charging for people does. The two models are aimed at different halves of the trade: per job suits install and maintenance work with few long jobs, per user suits reactive service work with many short ones. The ranking genuinely inverts twice between a sole trader and a twenty van firm.
Does field service software work with QuickBooks Desktop?
Sometimes, and it costs extra. Kickserv includes QuickBooks Online on its cheapest plan and charges $50 a month more for QuickBooks Desktop, which nearly doubles a $60 plan. Housecall Pro places QuickBooks Online sync on Essentials at $149 a month rather than Basic at $59. If the accounting sync is why you are buying, it decides both your tier and possibly your vendor.
What happens if I go over my plan limit?
It depends which limit you have. A job cap bends: ServiceM8's Premium Plus charges 20c per job beyond its allotment, so you overrun gradually. A user cap is a wall: hiring a sixth electrician on Kickserv's five user Start plan means moving to Run at $119, nearly double, for one person. Ask before signing whether the system stops, warns or bills you, and whether you can move back down.
Which vendors will not tell me the price?
Three of the six. ServiceTitan shows a Request Pricing button on each of its three tiers. FieldEdge states pricing varies with the features and add-ons you choose, and separately that it offers no free trial because it prefers guided onboarding. FieldPulse states it is seat based and offers a custom quote. All three are aimed at larger contractors, and none discloses implementation fees or contract length.
The detail
Each one cites where its numbers come from.
- Electrician software cost at 1, 5 and 20 on the tools
The cheapest field service software for electricians changes with crew size and job count. Worked from published US rates, with the point where the ranking flips.
- What actually limits you: jobs, users, seats or technicians
Every field service platform meters something different for electrical contractors. Which limit you hit first decides your bill more than the headline price does.
- Add-ons and accounting sync: the costs after the plan price
QuickBooks Desktop, payments, SMS and proposal tools are billed separately by field service vendors. What each publishes, and which tier the sync really sits on.
Sources
Price it for your crew, not for a tier
Six US platforms costed at one, five and twenty electricians, the point where the cheapest one flips, and the three vendors that will not publish a number at all.